Bitwise operators and bit manipulation question!!!

Hello,
I am kinda new to C++ programming and i have a question about bitmanipulation and bitwise operators.
I understand how to use bitwise operators (ie. & ^ |) so i'm not really struggling how to use them per say, however im struggling to realise when and what to use them for.
I have read online that in this day and age you dont really need to use them unless you are working with hardware/microprocessors where memory usage is important, and unfortunately i am studying Electrical Engineering :( so i feel that i will come across these alot.
My lecturer said that these are powerful but never really gave us examples, and being the useless university lecturer that he is, he seems to be content on not replying to my emails. Alas, I ask that if someone would be so kind as to just give me an example as to how these can be used in a real world scenario to save memory or allocate memory, what ever they are used for.
(No real code needed, just a worded example, unless its easier to explain via code)
Thanks!
Regards,
jPytlo
The bitwise | is used very often when combining various bitmap flags:

std::cin.exceptions(std::ios_base::failbit | std::ios_base::eofbit);

p = mmap(NULL, len, PROT_READ | PROT_WRITE, MAP_SHARED, fd, off);

auto handle = std::async(std::launch::async | std::launch::deferred, 
                                         parallel_sum<RAIter>, mid, end);

The & comes up similarly, when clearing bits. xor is more likely to be found in actual bitwise arithmetic, e.g. in a hash function.
Thanks!
Im not really sure what that chunk of code does :P But i get this gist of when they can be useful and the tasks they can perform.
Just another quick question, when you say combining bitmap flags are you referring to bitmaps as in computer graphics?
Thanks again for explaining when & and xor are used, i can imagine sceneries where they will be useful now!
if (number & 1){
//number is odd
}
  &01010101
  =00000001