OpenGl?

hi guys, i dont know if its appropriate to post such topic like this,
i have some c++ basics(i dont know my current level but i understand templates, recursion, some basic of STL like queues stack etc (on the way learning map), linked list, binary trees, and some OOP stuffs)

im currently learning on my own (im a student of accounting major) and i dont know where to go (in this case learning c++) , so i tried to do some search about c++ and found out that c++ dominates most of game programming, from further search i found out that "OpenGL" thing, but i dont know if im qualified enough to learn it.

so my questions are :
- what are the requirements to learn OpenGL?
- do i need to learn GUI first?
- there are many OpenGL tutorial books, which one u recommend for beginner like me?

note : sorry if for the bad english

thx for your patience
Last edited on
1) A good, strong knowledge of C++. Otherwise you're probably going to wind up more confused than anything.

2) No. GUI programming and OpenGL programming are two different things.

3) I'd recommend a website, http://nehe.gamedev.net/

A note, though, OpenGL is kind of a level lower than, say, using a graphics engine. If you're looking at making games, I'd start 2D first. There's a lot more going on than graphics.

If you truly want to go 3D, why not use an engine that interfaces with OpenGL, such as Ogre3D, rather than jumping in at the deep end?
I don't know that it's particularly necessary to have strong knowledge of C++. At least, I know I'm not "strong" in C++, but I've still been able to create my own models in 3dsMax and then have them appear in a program that I wrote.