vector trouble

Hey all, I'm pretty new to C++ so any help would be greatly appreciated!

I'm trying to use vectors for a small program in place of arrays (though arrays are clearly a viable approach). Here is the start to my program:
#include <iostream>
#include <vector>

using namespace std;

class Board{

vector<char> board (3);

public: Board()
      {

}

public: void modboard(int x, int y, char xo)
      {

}

};

int main()
{
   vector<int> valuesd(5);
    return 0;   
}

This code gives me the error: "expected ';' before '(' token" in line 9 (right after the class definition). However, if I do not specify the size of the vector, I do not get an error.

Also, is it possible to declare a 2d vector?

Again, thanks for the help!
You may not specify a constructor for a vector inside a class definition. So instead of

vector<char> board (3);

you should write

vector<char> board;
So then I can specify the dimensions of the vector in a constructor? For example:

{
          board = vector<char> (3);    
      }

You can but using another syntax

Board() : board( 3 ) {}

The difference is that in this case only one constructor of the vector is called.
Last edited on
Shouldn't the original code work in C++11? Or is that only when using curly brackets?
Peter87,
I have looked through section 9.2 of the C++ Standard quickly and there is the following grammar for the member-declarator

declarator brace-or-equal-initializeropt
Last edited on
Ok, so vector<char> board = vector<char>(3); and vector<char> board{0, 0, 0}; will work but vector<char> board(3); will not work.
wait, sorry, vlad, why does your suggested syntax work? and what are its advantages?
In your example

{
   board = vector<char> (3);    
}

at first the default constroctor for the vector is called then inside the body of the constructor of the class Board a temporal vector is created and the copy assignment operator is called to assign this temporal vector to the vector board.