Euler 10

So, I'm trying to solve the tenth problem in the Euler Project. Basically, I want to sum the first 2 million prime numbers. By the way, I'm an applied mathematics student, so that's why the code is a bit weird (at least according to what my programmer friends tell me, mathematicians are the worse programmers).

The idea is to have one section which determines if a number is prime, using Fermat's small theorem (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fermat%27s_little_theorem):
int small_fermat(int n)
{
	for (int i=2; i<=n; ++i)
	{
		if (pow(i+1,i-1)=1 %i)
		{
			return 1;
		}

else return 0;
	}
}

But then, I have a problem, that pow doesn't take int types, but I can't change the type to float because modulu doesn't take float types. So how do I resolve this issue?

Then, after that, I wanted to take the sum of all of the prime numbers, by multiplying the result of the Fermat function by the number, like so:

int sum_primes(int n)
{
	int sum=0;
	for (int i=0; i<n, i++;)
	{
		sum=sum+i*small_fermat(i);
	}
}

This part is okay, but I want some input on the code in general.

Thanks a lot!
Last edited on
But then, I have a problem, that pow doesn't take int types, but I can't change the type to float because modulu doesn't take float types. So how do I resolve this issue?

You can cast your number inside the pow() function. That way it'll preserve it's int-ness, but be a float where you need it to be.
pow(i+1,i-1)=1 %i
This doesn't just look weird. Ignoring pow()'s type requirements, it's just wrong.
1. = is the assignment operator, not the comparison operator. You can't assign to the return value of a function.
2. The expression (x==1 %y) still doesn't make sense. % has little to do with congruence from mathematics. x%y is merely the remainder of dividing x by y. (x==1%y) is equivalent to (x==(1%y)), which of course is equivalent to (x==1).
The proper way to write this check (again, ignoring pow()'s type requirements) would be (pow(i+1,i-1)%i==1).