Self taught and humbly seeking direction

Hi all,

(hmm, I wonder how many people post on here with the desire to become a games programmer).

As I've stated in the title I am self taught at writing in C++. I have gone through the directxtutorial.com tutorials (at least the free ones) and started looking into the toymaker.info reference pages.

I have since decided to try making my own tetris game (not called tetris of course ;) ) but am having trouble with some of the logic - I humbly believe it's a problem that's exacerbated by my Chronic Fatigue Syndrome which gives me brain fog.

I fully understand that game programming is a step up from conventional programming, so perhaps I am trying to run before I can walk?

So here's my question. Since I've been self taught in C++ and haven't had any experience with 'professional' coding what would you lovely people suggest? Should I get a list of projects and work through them? Then reworking the code to make it neater? Is there a good book that lists some practices that should be under my belt before I try game programming? Or should I continue to bumble along on my own with the game programming?

Sorry if none of this is making much sense.

Mike

P.S. Brain Fog = problems with following logical thought, speech problems and memory lapses.
Last edited on
There's no one way, really. People learn differently. Some learn more from reading, some from doing.

Personally, I think the easiest way to learn is to get stuck in and have a go, as you are. If your goal is to make a Tetris clone, keep at it. If you're having trouble with a particular part, post your issues on this forum (I'd recommend a new post) and someone will no doubt help out.

There's always going to be troublesome (and even boring) parts of programming, be it games, tools or whatever.