Stuck on HW Assignment

Hey everyone, I'm new to C++, new to programming, and new to this forum. I have a HW assignment that I am stuck on. The program "kind of" works correctly, but it has a few issues. The big issue that I am worried about, is I do not always get the correct output.

Low input numbers work. Example:
Item price: 2000, Down payment: 1000, Interest rate: 18, Monthly payment: 50

High input numbers do not work. Example:
Item price: 10000, Down payment: 2000, Interest rate: 18, Monthly Payment 50

For the larger numbers it looks like there is a point where the output increases instead of decreasing and it becomes an infinite loop (I think). I have been working on this problem for over a week now, and I'm surely out of ideas on how to fix this. Any help or hints would be greatly appreciated.

// File Name: Project9.cpp
// Author:
// Email Address:
// Assignment: Chapter 2 - Project 9
/* Description: Interest Calculator - User inputs item price, down payment amount, the interest rate (compounded monthly) and the
monthly payment amount. The program outputs the total amount of months to pay off the line of credit, the interest charged each
month, the last months charged interest, and the amount of the last payment */
// Last Changed: 10-5-12

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
double principal; // Principal or loan amount
double interestRate; // Interest rate
double monthlyPayment; // Monthly payment
double interest = principal * (interestRate / 12); // Calculates monthly interest
double finalPayment; // Last months payment
double finalInterest; // Last months interest
double downPayment; // Down payment
double price; // Initial cost of item
int months; // Months
char exit; // Rerun program or exit program

cout.setf(ios::fixed);	// Converts numbers into currency format
cout.setf(ios::showpoint); // Converts numbers into currency format
cout.precision(2); // Converts numbers into currency format

do // Always do this
	{