Returning values through pointers in functions.

Hey guys, I'm new to c I've been having trouble with my understanding of this stuff; how would I go about returning three values to my main from a function using pointers?
I've tried looking it up, but I was unsuccessful.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
void filestats(FILE*,float*,float*,float*);

int main (void)
{
    float nl=0,nw=0,nc=0;
    float *nl_ptr,*nw_ptr,*nc_ptr;                         //THIS IS WHERE MY TROUBLE IS
    nl_ptr=&nl;nw_ptr=&nw;nc_ptr=&nc;                         //THIS IS WHERE MY TROUBLE IS
    FILE *fin=fopen("filestatsin.txt","r");
    filestats(fin,&nl,&nw,&nc);                         //THIS IS WHERE MY TROUBLE IS

printf("chars: %d words: %d lines:%d",nc,nw,*nl_ptr);                         //THIS IS WHERE MY TROUBLE IS
    system("pause");
    return 0;
}
void filestats(FILE * fin,float *nl_ptr,float *nw_ptr,float *nc_ptr)
{
    char c;
    int l=0,w=0,c2=0;
    while(fscanf(fin,"%c",&c)!=EOF){
        printf("%c",c);
        if((c=='a')||(c=='A')||(c=='b')||(c=='B')||(c=='c')||(c=='C')||(c=='d')||(c=='D')||(c=='e')||(c=='E')||(c=='f')||(c=='F')||(c=='g')||(c=='G')||(c=='h')||(c=='H')||(c=='i')||(c=='I')||(c=='j')||(c=='J')||(c=='k')||(c=='K')||(c=='l')||(c=='L')||(c=='m')||(c=='M')||(c=='n')||(c=='N')||(c=='o')||(c=='O')||(c=='p')||(c=='P')||(c=='q')||(c=='Q')||(c=='r')||(c=='R')||(c=='s')||(c=='S')||(c=='t')||(c=='T')||(c=='u')||(c=='U')||(c=='v')||(c=='V')||(c=='w')||(c=='W')||(c=='x')||(c=='X')||(c=='y')||(c=='Y')||(c=='z')||(c=='Z')){
            c2++;
        }else if((c==' ')){
            w++;
        }else if(c=='\n'){
            l++;
        }
    }
    *nw_ptr=(float)w+(float)l;                         //THIS IS WHERE MY TROUBLE IS
    *nl_ptr=(float)l;                         //THIS IS WHERE MY TROUBLE IS
    *nc_ptr=(float)c2;                         //THIS IS WHERE MY TROUBLE IS
    printf("chars: %d words: %d lines:%d",c2,w+l,l);
    system("pause");