COMPLETE NOOB CODING AND PROGRAMMING MATERIALS

Hey ladies and guys, so just as the title states I'm like a fetus to the world of coding and programming. Currently I'm self learning from web sources and books. What I'd like to know is would it be necessary or optional to write my code and programs in a physical notebook or just on the computer? Any starter tips for me? From all of you rounded coders n programmers, tips on best practices when self learning/teaching.

Details are great *hint hint*
Thanks all. You're great!

A Lepos
When first thinking of how to write a program it can be helpful to use pen and paper to write down what most call "pseudocode" which is simply a template for the structure and flow of the program using basic english (or your language of choice.) Say you wanted to write a program that takes several integer values from the user and averages them. Your pseudocode might look something like:

Ask user for input
input ints to array
sum array
divide sum by # of inputs
output average

From there it's much easier to replace the pseudocode with working code. Plus this helps you see any logical errors you may have with your understanding of the problem or how to solve it.

As for learning, I'm still in the early stages myself. The best things I can advise would be to:

a) Get a good hardcopy reference. Hell, get 3 if you can afford it. Every source you read (that is even HALF decent) will offer you different insights into the language and how to use it, from different perspectives. What works to help me understand, say, functions for instance may NOT click for you. But another approach may. And hardcopy, though expensive, is much easier to use as a reference then webpages, and usually contain more and more thorough information (not dissing this website, or any mind you!)