image upload via c++ cgi

I'm trying to allow image upload to a web server via a web form (aware of the security risks). My code works great for text files but I am getting stuck on eof in image files which I know is not a special character in image files so cannot be used as a delimiter.

I've tried
getline(cin, formstr, '\0');
which, of course, fails at the first \0 in the file. I've tried other delimiters and have moved a little further into the file but never to the end. I think I'm going about this incorrectly with getline.

Maybe I need to get the file in binary, i.e.
ifstream thefile("/path/to/file.jpg", ios::binary);
but I don't have the file name until I receive the data, and I can't use a string variable for filename anyway. Also, I've received all the data I'm going to get at this point.

A push in the right direction would be appreciated, thanks!
closed account (o3hC5Di1)
Hi there,

I'm no expert on this, but perhaps you could do something like:

std::string image;
std::string tmp;
while (cin >> tmp)
{
    image.append(tmp);
}

//this might strip whitespaces though
//you could use the same technque using getline 

That should load the whole image into string "image".

Also, I believe it's possible to give cin.read http://cplusplus.com/reference/istream/istream/read/ a block size parameter to read out, so that may be an option too.

Hope that helps.

All the best,
NwN
Last edited on
but I don't have the file name until I receive the data, and I can't use a string variable for filename anyway. Also, I've received all the data I'm going to get at this point.

If you use a C++11 compiler you can use a std::string variable for the file name. Otherwise you can use a std::string by using the c_str() member function to convert the string to a constant C-string.