Reading rgb data in picture file

Hi,

I need r,g,b data in a matrix format for each of the pixels in a picture file such as bmp, jpeg, tiff etc. How can I get that?

I am actually a Fortran programmer, but Fortran cannot do this. So I thought somebody in C++ forum may help me since C++ can access this data. If I could get a small windows executable that takes a picture file name and output rgb in some format like
nx, ny, r, g, b
that would be wonderful. I actually need this for my employer, so I could compensate you for the effort. However, payment may turn out to be problematic since I would need to write a PO.

I apologize for posting in a forum meant for C++ programmers, but I am somewhat helpless in this effort.
When you say matrix format, what exactly do you mean?
Are you looking to get the RGB triples for each pixel?
And is your goal to have a program that reads standard graphics formats and converts the data into a stream of RGB triples?
Since each file format is different, that's not a small order. And some formats are proprietary.
If money is not an issue, you can buy off the shelf software that will convert from one format to another.
I wouldn't mind helping out for one or two file formats, but that would be the extent of it.
Another issue is that many images might not consist of RGB data. Some images are composes of indexes into a color map or are black and white.
All of the above can be converted into RGB triples, but you need to specify exactly what your requirements are.
Yamex, Thanks for the offer.