Number Guessing game with a twist

I'm trying to get this to adjust the original range of 1 - 100 to whatever is left after the guess. For example: If I were to guess 20, it should update to "Guess a number between 21 - 100. Then say I guess 90: "between 21 - 89". And so on. First, I keep running into a problem with the "cout" line of the "high" and "low" integers. Won't compile. Secondly, if I take those out and compile it, I run into an issue where when I guess the right number it says "your number is too high" followed by "your guess is correct!" I am a beginner at this sort of thing trying to take the original homework assignment and add to it for added personal learning by making it more dynamic.

#include <cstdlib>
#include <iostream>
#include <cmath>
using namespace std;

int main () {

int number;
int guess;
int tries = 0;
int low = 1;
int high = 100;
number = rand() % 100 + 1;

cout << "Guessing Game" << endl;

do {

cout << "Enter a number between:" << low; " and " << high; <<endl;
cin >> guess;

tries++;

if (guess < number)
{
low = guess +1;
cout << "Your number is too low." << endl;
}

else {
high = guess - 1;
cout << "Your number is too high. " << endl;
}
} while (number != guess);

if (guess = number);
cout << "Your guess is correct!" << "Your number of tries is: " << tries << endl;

return 0;

}
Your compiler error would have told you the line number of the first error. Once you get used to their format, they're really quite useful in tracking down problems.

I suspect it'll complain about this line:

cout << "Enter a number between:" << low; " and " << high; <<endl;

The semi-colons after low and high are terminating the statement at those points, turning it into three statements (the second two being nonsense).

cout << "Enter a number between:" << low;
" and " << high; 
<<endl;

Take a look at the error with the above in mind and you'll get some insight into what it's telling you.

Oh, and remove the two semi-colons ;-)

Jim
Last edited on