Help with a copy constructor.

I'm given this code and I have to write a copy constructor for it, however I don't understand how pointers work really and I'm just getting confused. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

class Grade{
private:
   int a, b, c;
   int *d, *e;

public:
   Grade(const Grade& orig){

}
}
If you do not understand how the pointers work in this class ( I also do not know ) when define the copy constructor simply

Grade(const Grade& ) = default;
Last edited on
but what would I write to finish the copy constructor then??
I'm new to constructors as well, but I believe you have to create a default constructor as well

public:
Grade();

Plus, they are supposed to copy something...

//===== grade.h ============================================

class Grade
{
private:
   int a, b, c;
   int *d, *e;

public:

Grade();

Grade(const Grade& p);   // copy constructor

//=== grade.cpp ============================================

Grade::Grade(const Grade& p)  //setting the value (::) of the constructor Grade to your copy constructor
{
    a = p.a;
    b = p.b;
}

//============ main.cpp ====================================

Grade p;            // calls default constructor.
Grade x = p.a;  // calls your copy constructor.

Granted, don't quote me on this, like I said, I'm still new at this, but this is the basics behind how I understand it.
Last edited on
A copy constructor is created by default that will assign all member variables to be the same as they were in the original object.

For a simple object that has no pointers this is usually sufficient. However, when copying a class that contains a pointer you need to write your own implementation of the copy constructor to handle the allocation of new memory for the new objects pointer.

http://www.cplusplus.com/articles/y8hv0pDG/ - Copy Constructors
http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/dynamic/ - Dynamic Memory
closed account (zb0S216C)