Problem with variable initialization within a class

Before I start I would just like to say that I am very new to C++ and programming in general, so my structure isn't the greatest when it comes to making programs. Now that that's out of the way, let me introduce you to my problem. Within a constructor in a class I have made called Matt I am trying to set the values of the variables within the class. I am successful in doing this but then I call one of my non-member functions within the constructor and some unexpected results are produced. The variables after the function is over and the constructor is finished are extremely large (indicating that the variables were not initialised correctly, which I don't understand). Here is my constructor:

Jeff::Jeff(const char rawData[ ], int freqJ, int aJ, int bJ) {
   signal[0] = '\0';

if(freqJ > 9 || freqJ  <= 0) {
      freqC = 0;
   }
   else { 
      freqC = freqJ;
   }
   if(aJ >= 0 && aJ <= 255) {
      aC = aJ;
   }
   else {
      aC = 0;
   }
      if(bJ >= 0 && bJ <= 255) {
      bC = bJ;
   }
   else {
      bC = 0;
   }

printf("a: %d, b: %d, frequency: %d\n", aC, bC, freqC);
   analyze(rawData, signal, freqC, aC, bC);
   printf("a: %d, b: %d, frequency: %d\n", aC, bC, freqC);
}

In the first printf, the values I expect to see are displayed:

OUTPUT: a: 32, b: 122, frequency: 3

But after the function is finished, (and you are going to have to trust me that I am not changing the values of a b or freq within the analyze function, I am just using them for if statements and loops etc. I know this because I tested the function's code separately and it did not change the variables used at all. But even still, in a non member function the variables used are just copies so it would not change the member variables if I recall correctly) this is displayed:

OUTPUT: a: 1785493355, b: 2003396199, frequency: 1079912744