Loading from a text file

Hi Folks,

I'm having problems loading data from a text file, I'd appreciate a nudge in the right direction. I'm a bit of a NOOB, at this.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
void loadAccountDetails () {

ifstream theFile;
clrscr ();
int accNr;
string firstName, midname, surName;
double balance;
unsigned short pin, numCustomers =0;
char Type;
theFile.open ("accountDataM.txt");
if (theFile.good()) {

cout <<"Accounts Loaded"<<endl;
while (!theFile.eof ()) {
theFile >> accNr >> firstName >> midname >> surName >>Type >> balance >> pin;
numCustomers++;

}
theFile.close ();
}
else
cout << "\a\a\n\n\tAccounts file failed to open.\a\a\n\n";
}
What specifically do you need help with? We can't read your mind and magically know how to give you a nudge ;)
Also please post a sample of your input file. And please use code tags when posting code.

closed account (3qX21hU5)
Ok first of all what are you having trouble with exactly? Also what does your text file look like?

EDIT: Gah got beat to the case by both LB and jlb
Last edited on
Okay , sorry , brand new to the forum thing. 1st timer here.
Right, I can read the file, as in list it's contents, that works just fine.
I can add new accounts no problem.
But I seem to be having problems loading the data and then using it to say make a deposit or to withdraw an amount.
Or especially when searching for a particular account.
I'm guessing that it is because the data is not being loaded correctly.

I'm 40 and trying to learn C++, loving it but not always getting it.
Below is a copy of the text file, and below that is how I am trying to load the details.

1 Michael  Frank  Callaghan c 294.87 4855
2 Bob      the    Builder  s 493.87 4856
3 Frank    Henry  Spencer  c 793.87 4857
4 David    Hairy  Muppet   s 793.87 4859
5 Bosco	   Foxy   Boy      s 993.87 4845
6 James    Earl   Jones    c 393.87 4835
7 Nora     Vera   Tipps	   s 593.87 4825