pulling words from strings

I'm just beginning to learn C++ and I'm having some issues with this function I'm trying to make. Basically I have a string and I want to pull out individual words from this string, but when I run this function i keep getting an out of range exception. is there an easier way to create this function? I know spaces exist in the entryString. I've looked into type casting too, I'm not sure if I have to cast the char findChar as a string before I append, any help would be amazing :D

*edit* I had to set findChar to something before the while statement would work.

string disectString(string entryString)
{

string exitString = "";
	char findChar = 'a';
	int i = 0;	

while(findChar != ' ')		
	{
		findChar = entryString.at(i);	
		exitString += findChar;
		i++;
	}

return exitString;
}
Last edited on
std::string GetNthWord(std::string s, std::size_t n)
{
    std::istringstream iss (s);
    while(n-- > 0 && (iss >> s));
    return s;
}
http://ideone.com/1UXg6z

Explanation:
The parameter s is passed by value, so a copy is made. We use this initial value to make an input string stream so we can extract space-delimited words. We then extract into s because we don't need its original value anymore. We do so over and over until either we reach the nth word, or the extraction operation fails. We then return s. If the extraction operation fails, s will either have the last extracted word, or if no words were ever extracted it will return the original string (which would be empty or only spaces).
Last edited on
closed account (3qX21hU5)
Your ouput worked fine for me. Could you paste your code here for us?

I usually don't do this but you seem like you put in the effort on figuring this out so here is a function that splits a string up word by word. Make sure you understand exactly what everything does and what is going on before you use it. Look into the string member functions find_first_of() and substr() because they are important.

#include <iostream>