Game of Life

Hi everyone,

I am struggling to write a program for Conway's Game of life. I am a relative beginner so my mistake may seem obvious. I am getting a problem with my 'display' function, but I think that the root of my problem is that I am not sure how to handle cells on the boundaries. These cells do not have 8 neighbors so they are unlike the others but I don't know how to deal with them. I am using xcode on a macbook (not sure if that matters). Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Here is my code so far:

#include <iostream>
#include <vector>
#include <unistd.h>
#include <cstdlib>
using namespace std;

// Global variables

const int ROWS=21;
const int COLS=80;
const char ALIVE= 'x';
const char DEAD= ' ';

// Function prototypes 
void generation(vector< vector<char> > &world, vector< vector<char> > &worldcopy);

void display(vector< vector<char> > &world);

int main()
{
    vector< vector<char> > world(ROWS, vector<char>(COLS, DEAD));
    vector< vector<char> > worldcopy(ROWS, vector<char>(COLS, DEAD));

// Set the initial alive cell configuration

world[2][2] = world [2][3] = world[2][4] = ALIVE;

while(true)
    {
        system("clear");
        display(world);
        usleep(80000);
        generation(world, worldcopy);

return 0;
    }

}

void generation(vector< vector<char> > &world, vector< vector<char> > &worldcopy)
{
    int count=0;

for (int i=0; i<ROWS; i++)
    {
        for (int j=0; j<COLS; j++)
        {
            // Check neighbor cells for life

if (worldcopy[i-1][j+1]==ALIVE)
            {
                count++;
            }
            if (worldcopy[i][j+1]==ALIVE)
            {
                count++;
            }
            if (worldcopy[i+1][j+1]==ALIVE)
            {
                count++;
            }
            if (worldcopy[i-1][j]==ALIVE)
            {
                count++;
            }
            if (worldcopy[i+1][j]==ALIVE)
            {
                count++;
            }