Forward Declaration error

Help need with c++ forward declarations
I am new to using forward declarations. I thought I had understood quite a bit of it until I got this error. Seems there is something really really basic that I miss. can some one of you help me with this error???

src/BaseBodyDynamics.cpp: In member function 'void Xlib::BaseDynamics::State::RecalculateState()':
src/BaseBodyDynamics.cpp:15: error: invalid use of incomplete type 'struct Xlib::Quatf'
include/BaseBodyDynamics.h:21: error: forward declaration of 'struct Xlib::Quatf'

basically i tried forward declaring the class Quat . Then had a variable declared in the header file which was a pointer. When i try using the variable in the cpp file after including Quaternion.h which is the parent file of Quat I get this error.

A small code snippet
//Header file
class Quatf;
Quatf* m_qSObjectSpin;

//cpp file in the RecalculateState function
m_qSObjectSpin->normalize();

Actually the quaternion is a part of the struct i have defined in my class..I am not sur eif that is causing the error or if there is any better way to do this.

Cheers
Last edited on
you are forward declaring Quat but the function returns Quatf. Is that a typo?
ah yes.. it is meant to be Quat f.. will correct it...
Quat is a templated class i have defined .. so Quatf i have typedef with a float as the template

typedef Quat<float>	Quatf;

and Quat<T> is the original class

The code compiles fine if i don add the normalize method... Any Quat variable i define when instanced gives me the same error
Last edited on
A forward declaration allows you to declare a variable of pointer type, but before you actually use it the compiler must see the complete definition. The error message indicates that this is not happening.
how do i really get to solve this issue??
This sounds like it might be a template implementation issue.