C++ / Win32 API

Recently I decided to start with some Win API and C++ (since C++ is the language I really love and enjoy) and I want to hear from you guys what do you think about it.

I found a tutorial about using Win API here: http://www.winprog.org/ and I'm thinking to stick with it.

What are you suggestions or is there some better, faster and easier to implement API that you would recommend.

Thanks for your time
Aleksandar Grbic
Well, when I started learning Win API about 13 years ago - it seems cool to me. I wrote several good programs, some using OpenGL etc... It was fun.

When I was using C++ at my job, 3 years ago - it was not that fun. Too much code to write, absense of portability, no great compatibility between windows versions.

(And C++ appeared not as fun also - hunting for bugs left by colleagues, portability issues etc...)

I switched to java - its standard Swing graphic library is cool enough and of course "run everywhere" works. Language is more sturdy.

But if about C++... Perhaps it is better idea to use cross-platform graphic libraries, like Qt etc. Though writing for WinAPI small programs for your own usage is anyway nice business.
Language is more sturdy.

Waaaat?
Well saying that Java is stronger then C++ seams just wrong but rest of the stuff you said is probably true. I guess I ll stick to Qt since most of the people would recommend it anyway.

Well saying that Java is stronger then C++ seams just wrong

"Stronger" does not make any sense in comparing programming languages. I only meant secondary qualities (like fool-proofness, testability etc.) which are not as important when you are writing the program alone and perhaps for yourself only (but may be crucial enough in industrial development with several programmers).