Potential reference vs value problem with objects

I have been working on a game and trying to use it as a means for bettering my C/C++/general programming skills. I'm reasonably familiar with the concept of pointers (I'd say I'm a 4/10, where 10 is 'leet hacker' and 0 is absolute novice) and scope, so that's the first thing I thought about while making my program.

Unfortunately, it's very modular (I'm working with friends and we're eventually going to take up different aspects of the code; but as of now, all the coding has been done by me, so I know all the ins/outs of the program as it currently is).

Essentially, I've gotten my program to successfully spawn a single player character with preset stats and an unlimited number of enemies (one at a time, though) on command.

My current test is to have my overpowered character attack a never-ending stream of bad guys until the player either dies or gets bored of spawning enemies. Unfortunately, for some inexplicable reason, though, my hero seems to restore his health every turn.

I tried following a debug, but it froze my game somehow after I began battling an enemy (it runs just fine when I run it normally, with no warnings or segfaults). Watching the variable led to some interesting results - my currenthealth variable randomly goes to "undefined" when I'm tracing outside of the class that created it... I always assumed that a variable should stay constant until I free the ram used by it (I have no destructors in my program, so I thought they'd remain permanent). Then again, maybe I was staring at a "class's" variable instead of an object's. Either way, though, the currenthealth restores itself, making me think the program is doing a change of value instead of a change by reference.

But I am definitely using the address operator (&) and using it in dereference form in functions (*) and saving using the arrow (->). I could understand this behavior if I was, for example doing this:

CLASSTYPE OBJECTNAME;