Language for app development?

Pages: 12
Hello,

I'm going to develop a mobile phone app for use on Android, iPhone, Windows etc. I'm not a developer, but would like to do some research. Is C++ the standard language to develop this? If not, then what is?
I know for sure that C-Objective is for iOS, but I think Java is main for Android.

EDIT: Of course, you need a Java development kit for Android to use it. xd
Last edited on
From quick research it looks like Objective-C is an extension of C++.

So an app for Android and iOS has to be developed from scratch in two different languages. It cannot be developed in a base language and then ported over to the other OS?

Excuse my lack of programming knowledge. It seems very labour-intensive to create an app for several platforms.
Java is the language for Android development! Download the SDK from the Android SDK website ( Google it ). It takes a bit and you need to unzip it. Then use the program Eclipse to make apps in Java for Android. I'm not sure how to release them though. If your lazy, just use this:
http://www.tangiblesoftwaresolutions.com/Product_Details/CPlusPlus_to_Java_Converter_Details.html
It's not !00% accurate, but you can find the little mistake fixes online probably.
Hi Jazpen. I'm not developing this myself. I will be the concept/UI designer, and I'll be teaming up with a developer at a later date. Just trying to get a good understanding of what's needed at the moment.

You're link is for a C++ to Java converter. Would the best way to approach this be to develop in C++ and then convert to both Objective-C and Java later? (Bear in mind I would also need to make it accessible to Windows Phone too).

Or would it be best to develop it in the language of the largest userbase (Android), and then convert it over to iOS after?
What programming language do you currently know?