Will muti threading provide any proformance boosts?

Hello everyone,

I am new to programming in general so please keep that in mind when you answer my question.

I have a program that takes a large 3D array (1 billion elements) and sums up elements along the various axis to produce a 2D array of a projection of each side of the data. The problem here is that it is very ram intensive as the program is constantly fetching information from the ram, both reading and writing.

The question is, will i gain any performance increases if i mutithread the program or will I end up running into a RAM access bottleneck? When i say mutithreading, i only mean mutithreading for 2 or 4 cores, no more.

Thanks in advanced,

-Faken
Last edited on
No, not really.

The task must be performed, if not in one thread then in another. So now you've got the overhead of managing and swapping threads in addition to doing the calculations.

Unless you have a dual-core CPU or the like, (making the calculations occur concurrently) then it isn't worth the effort. (Multiple threads != concurrence -- a single CPU can still only execute one thread at a time.)
Last edited on
I take it this is running on a 64bit box (as you've exeeded the 32bit address space).

If the system is paging due to access data, then making it multi-threaded will at best increase the page demand, making the application slower.

Can you not revise your algorithm to use a smaller data set? That'd be the way to improve performance.
Thanks for the responses,

I think i was a little misunderstood.

I am running a quad core processor but I only have a 32-bit OS...which is giving me some problems (I'm taking steps to fix that right now)