How to learn specifically C++ for high frequency trading ?

Hi guys,

I have been programming for a few decades now, but also trading currencies, stocks and futures, using intensively technical analysis algorithms.

I made the mistake a few years ago to take the HTML /CSS / JAVASCRIPT / PHP / MySQL road and program Internet sites from scratch, cookies, etc... BO-RING to death and new CMS pop out every day, pushing me swiftly out of the labor market.

Getting old now (47 !), I would like to secure the future by closing the loop and learn C++ specifically for high frequency trading ...

Would you please give me advice about where I should start, about specific programming techniques within C++ I should focus on ?

Thank you very much
To answer your questions you'll want to focus on Sockets, RSS feeds (double check that one), system security (IMHO either sand boxing or a ROM OS for something like this), encryption and authentication and the protocols specific to the exchange your choose.

If you don't mind I had some questions of my own.

What makes you think that there is any money what so ever in HFT? This is a market manipulation tool, not an investment strategy. And to play that game you would need to have billions in the bank to begin with. People seem to have the impression that this is the technological evolution of short running a stock but it isn't. This is a technique used to rapidly respond to buying\selling trends with a large volume of transactions to shift the market in whatever direction would make the most money for the operator.

Also, I don't know what country you're in but here in the US net neutrality is back on the chopping block. If that dies and you can't secure a connection to an exchange that pays whatever premium price to your service provider then the latency might make this functionally impossible. That may just be me being paranoid but it's something you should consider.
Last edited on