Is this book too out of date?

Hello. I've study design a bit. I've got the general idea.

I'd like to try coding in C++. I don't have much prior programming experience. Although I've played around a bit and messed with compilers.

I've had this book for a while it's: C++ Primer Plus 4th Edition by Stephen Prata. I've done some of the exercises in it and it doesn't seem that hard. But I'd like to pick it up again since I have found more time.

Are the standards in this book too out of date, or should I get something newer to study? Obviously I'm not looking to do anything fancy with programming right now, since I'm a newb; I just want to learn the C++ basics. I actually plan on programming mostly as a hobby; I'm not going to try to make a living at it. I think this book covers C, and adds in C++ toward the end of the book.
C++ Primer Plus is a really bad book. Never trust a book on C++ which starts with C. C++ and C are really different languages.

This is a most knowg book guide: http://stackoverflow.com/a/388282

Mostly look at these:
Programming: Principles and Practice Using C++ by Bjarne Stroustrup
C++ book from language creator. Updated for C++14.

C++ Primer (currently 5th edition) by Stanley Lippman, Josée Lajoie, and Barbara E. Moo
Do not mix up with Primer Plus, which took already known name to feed on unsuspecting buyers. One of the greatest books on C++. Updated for C++11

Accelerated C++ by Andrew Koenig and Barbara Moo
Not updated for C++11. Was the first book to start teaching modern approach to C++. It is book on C++, not programming, so it is way shorter than others, but expects some knowledge (school BASIC course should be enough) from reader. Great if you think that C++ Primer is too slow and explaining obvious things.
@MiiNiPaa
>> C++ Primer Plus is a really bad book. Never trust a book on C++ which starts with C. C++ and C are really different languages.

I have C++ Primer Plus, 6-th Edition. The first chapter is "Getting Started with C++".