How can I control the speed at which a loop loops based on an outside variable?

Alright, So i'm using an animation program. In this program I've simulated a particle system. The particles are flying around at different and varying speeds. I've attached birds to the particles and I want to be able to control each bird's flapping animation based on its velocity; so birds moving faster will be flapping faster.

Initially, the bird's flapping animation is controlled by a parameter that goes from 0 to 100%. So not only do I need to drive the speed at which the animation goes from 0 to 100%, I need to set it on a loop so once it reaches 100%, it loops back to 0%. I'm extremely new to code so I don't think it would be wise for me to even provide a jumping off point, not that I could. Many thanks for any efforts.
You need to understand the difference between (or equivalence of) frames per second and ticks per second.

Frames per second (framerate, fps) is how many times per second you update the display of your game or application. Higher framerate appears visually smoother.

Ticks per second is how many times per second you update the logic of your game or application (e.g. moving objects based on trigonometry, changing which animation frames are currently displayed, etc).

Sometimes, a tick and a frame are one in the same: you update game logic and then draw it right away. Other times, such as with Minecraft, a ticks and frames are unrelated to each other. Minecraft uses 20 ticks per second and allows the framerate to be whatever your computer can handle or whatever you limit it to (even if it is less than the ticks per second).

With animations, you need to consider both factors - if the framerate is higher than the tick rate, you may want to create smooth transitions between the previous tick and the next tick. You might also be going for a retro style where the animations of various things are much less than either your framerate or tick rate.