Complicated Project, procedural generation

I am trying to make a random generator for building interiors, but, not the standard rogue-like stuff. I am wanting something sensical, and that fills in the designated space without leaving a bunch of "blank" areas that don't make sense. I am also trying to avoid reliance on large tiles.

The output I'm going for right now is have a 3d vector as a map of the building (I'm not married to this idea, if something better can be found.) Each cell refers to a one yard space or wall section.

What I would like help with, is trying to figure out the algorithms to split the space in a sensible manner with hallways, appropriate rooms, including closets or other sub-rooms. Also, I am rather new to developing programs, so any advice on efficiency or good practices with procedural generation, or even how to layer the various classes to avoid cyclical dependency, would all be welcome.

I figure on sectioning of areas as having a particular type, so a hospital might have a labs areas, surgery area, inpatient rooms, clinic, offices, etc
All of this is written from the perspective of a 2d plan. I strong suggest you get that working before trying to fill multiple floors/3d spaces.

If you want to generate a building, many buildings are basically a bunch of rooms connected by doors. I would start out by coding that. i.e. Filling a space with rooms, leaving no gaps and ensuring there is at least 1 single walk that visits all of them. If you look to roguelikes, there are tons of tutorials and readings on exactly this kind of thing. You can use fairly free (but reasonable) constrains on room sizes to make the generation quick and easy.

Next up, you can look at customizing your algorithm. I would do this by defining room types. e.g.

"stdroom" -> A room with size n x m where n & m satisfy: 4 <= x>= 10 with any amount of doors.

"surgeryroom" -> n x 6 where n satisfies 8 <= n <= 10, with 1 door.