hash table chaining

Hi, i have a project where i should read an input.txt that contains a x node, the neighboor y and the weight w of the connecting line in the graph... so i should insert(with a function INSERT_LINK(int x,int y,int w) ) all the x in a hash table and connect them with their y neighboors with chains (in order). Also i should creat a function DELETE_LINK(int x,int y) and use the prim algorithm to find the mintree. But the user can't give the orders, i should creat a command.txt where i will write the commands... can anyone help me ?? It's a very important project for me, i need your help !!
I'm not sure why you need a hash table. Do your nodes have names attached to them?

What "orders" do you need to process other than "this is the input tree's edges"?

Can you provide more information about what exactly you are trying to accomplish?
Sorry if you didn't understand, i must admit that i can't explain my project in english also i am a beginner in c++... but i have a picture that may give you a idea for what i am trying to accomplish. The input that i mentioned contains the edges of the graph and the weight of the connecting lines...

x->y
|_|
|3|->|1|->|2|->|4|
|_|
|_|
|4|->|1|->|2|->|3|
|_|
|_|

there is the hash table with chains
Last edited on
I understand hash tables.

A hash table is used to store some small collection of values where each value may be relatively large, such as the following list: { 1, 19, 72, 312 }. In other words, the value itself cannot be used as an index into the list of values, because it would be too big. (312 cannot be an index into 20 items.)

A graph has sequentially numbered nodes, like { 0, 1, 2, 3, ... }, so you will always need exactly as many elements as there are nodes in the graph. With the convenient 1:1 ratio, this suggests an array lookup. A graph array should then be:

x->y
|0|
|1|
|2|
|3|->|1|->|2|->|4|
|4|->|1|->|2|->|3|