Beginner! Please help explain what each line of code means?

Hiya!
I'm new to all this and I want to know what each line of this code means please, in basic terms, to try and get the hang of it.
Thanks

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
#include <sstream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

string operator*(const string& s, unsigned int n) {
stringstream out;
while (n--)
out << s;
return out.str();
}

string operator*(unsigned int n, const string& s) { return s * n; }

int main(int, char **) {
string s = "name";
cout << s * 10 << endl;

system("pause");
return 0;
}
Last edited on
Please edit your post and make sure your code is [code]between code tags[/code] so that it has line numbers and syntax highlighting, as well as proper indentation.

I would explain the code right away but I can't do that without line numbers.
Each "include" line causes the compiler to read whatever is in the file specified at each include, as if it were written in that file.

The namespace line declares that the code assumes all members of namespace std should be assumed. Namespaces enclose declarations. Here's an example:

namespace nsA
{
 void function();
}

namespace nsB
{
 void function();
}

int main()
{
 function();  // this is ambiguous, and is an error

nsA::function(); // the compiler accepts this, calls nsA's version of function, not nsB's.

return 0;
}

The first call to function is an error. The compiler will not recognize EITHER function with just that call.

The second call to function is valid, because the explicitly references namespace nsA. It could also have called nsB::function to call the other version.

If I had included a line before main, using namespace nsB, that would have made the first call valid. The compiler would have assumed you intend to use namespace nsB, and would therefore have realized what you meant in the first call to function.

You would cause confusing of you issued both:

using namespace nsA;
using namespace nsB;