Programming question

Hello. I am a beginner in programming and wanted to know if someone can help. I have no idea what I am doing or where to even start. If anyone can help me on where to begin I would appreciate it. Here is the assignment.

What does the following program do?. Copy the sample program and compile it, then find the results. Submit a report which is more than one page length to explain how the program works and how you can improve it.

The problem is I don't even know what is wrong with the program? I understand that it adds up all the numbers but am I supposed to put in the program that it is supposed to add up the numbers?

#include <iostream>
using std::cout;
using std::endl;

int whatIsThis( int [], int ); //funtion prototype

int main()
{
const int arraySize = 10;
int a[ arraySize ] = { 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 };

int result = whatIsThis( a, arraySize);

cout << "Result is" << result << endl;
return 0; //indicates succesful termination
} // end main

// What does this function do?
int whatIsThis( int b[], int size)
{
if ( size == 1 ) // base case
return b [ 0 ];
else // recursive step
return b [ size - 1 ] + whatIsThis( b, size - 1 );
} //end function whatIsThis
closed account (48T7M4Gy)
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/176922/
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/windows/176924/
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/general/176928/
Last edited on
recursive function ( it calls itself) basically it calculat the sum of all element in the array and put it in the first element the. return the value of the first elemtn( the sum)

Last edited on
Ok. Thank you. If I understand you correctly this program no matter what numbers I enter, it will calculate the sum? So I don't have to write out each number?
try int a[ arraySize ] = { 112, 107, -219, 1 };
Not now. But please avoid multiple postings on the same question. Once is enough to get a reply.

I hope you tried the suggestion with changing the numbers.