Need help with signals project

Hey guys,

I need some help choosing a project for my undergraduate signals and systems class; especially one that's not utterly time consuming. My professor said we can implement a program that allows us to take the convolution of signals in either discrete or continuous time, a digital to analog converter, or a program that takes the Fourier of a function. I literally have no idea where or what to start on. I've done some research but haven't found many sources that have helped get me on the right track. I'm a beginning/intermediate programmer who has worked with C, C++, Matlab, and Ruby. If you could help me out, I would greatly appreciate any help that gets me headed in the right direction.

Thanks!
Last edited on
Is it related to chips, IC programming?
Are you talking about Arduino programming?
I wrote a frequency and amplitude-based music visualizer a few months ago -- I used a small Atmel ATmega-series MCU, designed and got a custom PCB etched, and packed it up nicely into a fancy pedal for use while performing. The entire project cost around $30 for components, $40 for copies of the the PCB, not counting the lighting hooked up to it, PSUs, etc. that I required, which was significantly more expensive.

I would not recommend doing this if you don't have access to the right tools. I wasn't at my school while I was working on it (meaning no easy access to labs), and it got to the point where I had to wire up an ad-hoc oscilloscope. Probably this won't be a problem for you, if this is a class project.

My code was written in assembler and C; it took me several weeks.

Maybe you don't have to do the hardware bit (nor write your program in assembler ;D ). That would speed things up a lot.
Last edited on