C++ 2.5D rendering

Wondering if someone could help me with learning how to ray cast in C++.
I am new to trying to make something besides text based. I don't like to use other things like directx, opengl, sdl, ect. I would like to learn the method for this. Nothing but c++ 11 and its default libraries.

(I am using codeblocks minGW)
The standard library doesn't contain graphics.
What system are you developing for?
Nevermind, I suppose MinGW is a Windows environment.

You can use the WinAPI to manipulate graphics, but you need system support. Nothing but C++'s default libraries are insufficient unless you are writing your own operating system. You'll have to decide how little third-party code you want to use. If you decide to go to the extreme, you will lose even the majority of the standard library, which assumes a hosted environment.

But you asked about graphics, not about systems development.

In general, you need linear algebra and trigonometry (geometry) in order to understand 3D graphics. If you're looking for a book, Gilbert Strang's "Introduction to Linear Algebra" is excellent.

As you might expect from the name, raycasting involves casting a ray (represented as a vector) from a particular point, applying some transformations, and solving a linear equation to get the point of intersection in world-space. Every concept required for ray-casting is integral to computer graphics. You'll learn to do that at the same time you learn how to draw triangles :).
Last edited on
I am actually taking algebra right now(In 7th grade) but I don't want any 3rd party libraries(SDL, opengl, ect)
Please reply soon, also please link some tutorials for this type of project.
I am actually taking algebra right now(In 7th grade)

Good! That's certainly a prerequisite too.

I don't want any 3rd party libraries(SDL, opengl, ect)
Nothing but c++ 11 and its default libraries