Employee Data Base using Data structures

Hello, I am still fairly new to programming and currently I'm taking a class revolved around data structures using c++. I've been working on a project but have hit a wall in progression in terms of what to do/how to do what I need to do. I'm very willing to learn and am here to accept any help I can get.

The assignment: I need to create a simple employee data base and create functions based off a criteria:

Data-What I deem a structure of an employee that holds the following data, data type were given (ID, Last name, First name, Social security number, salary, and age)

Index- indexes the records using a sort, not moving entire records. Only the primary key and the indexed field should be stored in the program's memory

Display- list of all records in order based on the last indexing. If no index occurs it should display in order of primary key.

Search- Allows user to enter Social Security Number and print a record if it exists.

Add Record- allows user to add record to file. Generate a primary key when this is done. Insure that a new record has a unique SSN and formatted (XXX-XX-XXX)

Delete Record- delete a record

File- store records as a random access file(is this a binary data file). Allows program to access individual records without having to read the whole database in memory.

Menu- Each function will be on a menu that is ran through a queue which allows user to enter all they wish to do at once then the choices will be queued to track the order of requests and executed one after the other. (The menu is the only part of the program I have working at the moment).

DISCLAIMER: Templates are not to be used, my professor likes header files, implementation files, and the main to all be separate from another.