Improving a factory function

Hi all! This is my first time posting but this site has already been an invaluable resource- thanks for that!

I have a factory function that goes something like this (obviously simplified somewhat):

int const CAR_TOYOTA = 0;
int const CAR_FORD = 1;

Car CarFactory(int carType) {
 switch (carType) {
 case CAR_TOYOTA:
  return new Toyota;
 case CAR_FORD:
  return new Ford;
 }
}

This seems like a bit of a kludgy solution to me. The most annoying thing about it is that any time I add a new Car subclass, I need to first define a new constant and then add it to the factory function. Plus that switch statement gets awfully huge with a large number of Car subclasses. It seems like the factory function should be fairly "ignorant" about what it's producing. I should/want to be able to to something more like this (obviously even more simplified than the first case):

Car CarFactory(std::string carType) {
 return new carType;
}
// the carType parameter matches the name of a Car subclass 

I don't know how to express this concept in words very well, so I've had a tough time searching for solutions :) I'd appreciate any advice.
i don't really know the goal of your class but if you are just trying to get rid of the switch statement then i suggest you use enumerations http://cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/other_data_types/ or arrays or vectors..

anyway you should return a reference of the Car object in your function instead and subclasses (Java right?) are called Derived Classes in C++
Thanks for correcting my terminology. My goal is to get rid of the switch statement as a means to an end- that is, allowing me to add new derived car classes without having to modify any of the "core" code. I don't want to have to define a new constant and/or modify a gigantic switch block in order to simply be able to create a new class.