Building error in visual studio

I am a beginner/intermediate programmer and am getting this error when I try to build my code :

C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community\Common7\IDE\VC\VCTargets\Microsoft.CppBuild.targets(877,5): error MSB3191: 
Unable to create directory "C:\Program Files (x86)\visual projects\glowing\glowing\glow\Debug\C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft DirectX SDK (June 2010)\LIB". The given path's format is not supported.

I have tried many different solutions, and nothing has changed the output.
Please help!
Last edited on
A colon is not valid in a path name except as the second character in the leading drive designation (as in "C:").

I'm not sure how you got the DirectX SDK path appended to your program's debug path. The simplest fix might be to just create a new project, then copy the file(s) you created into the new project.

Hope this helps.
@Duthomhas
thanks for the suggestion
just created a new project, added all of my headers and source to it and pushed build and got the same error :

1>C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community\Common7\IDE\VC\VCTargets\Microsoft.CppBuild.targets(877,5): error MSB3191: Unable to create directory "C:\Users\Luke's computer\source\repos\Project6\Project6\Debug\C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft DirectX SDK (June 2010)\LIB". The given path's format is not supported.

please if anybody has anymore suggestions I am willing to do anything (not harmful to my os)

Last edited on
Does it compile in "Release" mode?
What looks strange to me is:

...\Project6\Project6\Debug\C:\Program Files...
                           ^^^

@jlb
Yes, that is exactly the problem. The trick is to narrow down where the error is coming from.
thank you so much everybody.
narrowed down the problem - my browse information file directory was not separated with a ;
$(IntDir);$(DXSDK_DIR)LIB\x86 is how it is now and it works fine.