Need Help with Reading/Writing 2Vector of Structs

I'm not new to c++ programming but I am new to reading and writing information to and from a binary file in c++. I've grasped some of the basics of reading and writing from online examples but I'm still having trouble. My question is, is it possible to read and write the vector 'directories' below to and from a binary file?

Any articles related to this would be great, along with example code or explanation on how the vector is read back and how to access that information to be read out.

#include <iostream>;
#include <fstream>;
#include <cstring>;
#include <string>;
#include <vector>;

struct File{
   string name;
   string data;
}

struct Directory{
   string name;
   vector<File> files;  
}

vector<Directory> directories;
My question is, is it possible to read and write the vector 'directories' below to and from a binary file?

Possible, yes, but also not so simple. You'll need to somehow write each element of your vector to the file, serializing each Directory and File as you go. Is there a reason you want to use a binary file instead of just a plain text file?

I'd like to use a binary file because it'll be faster to access and read the data, not to mention the size would be much smaller if I had a large amount of data input. But before you were saying that I would need to serialize each Directory and File, how so?

Something on the lines of doing this?

file.write((char*)&directories[i][0], directories.size() * sizeof(Directory))

file.write((char*)&files[0], files.size() * sizeof(File))

And vise versa with the read?
But before you were saying that I would need to serialize each Directory and File, how so?