Not really understanding classes and inheritance.

I have a gizmo class with 2 virtual methods. I can put gizmos in my program, the compiler is happy with them and their methods run happily when I call the base class's methods. Very nice.

Now, I want each gizmo to have 0 or more thingies, and each thingy has a different "DoIt" method. Being an antique Pascal programmer, I thought first of a linked list. So I added a Thingy * to my Gizmo class, and a constructor on the Thingy that builds a linked list. The Thingies come in reverse order in the list, but I don't care. If I did, it would be easy to fix.

The trouble comes when I try to add a virtual method to the Thingy class. It does not let me to that unless I derive classes for each different thingy, but once I do that, it doesn't use the base class's constructor.

class Thingy ;

class Gizmo
{
public:
	Thingy * pThingy = nullptr ;
	virtual void Switch() ;
	virtual  int Loop(unsigned long ms)=0;
};

class Thingy
{
public:
	Thingy * pNext ;
	int x ; int y; int w; int h; int id ;
	Thingy( int px, int py, int pw, int ph, int pid, Gizmo *pS) ;
	virtual void DoIt() ;
};

void Thingy::DoIt()
{

}

class AGizmo: public Gizmo
{

public:
	virtual void Switch() ;
	virtual  int Loop(unsigned long ms);
};

class pThing1: Thingy
{
public:
  void DoIt() ;
}; 

pThing1 Thing1(5, 200, 60, 30, 1, &AGizmo);

pThing1::DoIt()
{
}

tempscreen.cpp:26:56: error: no matching function for call to 'pThing1::Thing1(int, int, int, int, int, Gizmo*)'

But now the compiler doesn't find the constructor for pThing1. I thought it would use the constructor in Thingy to build the linked list. If I don't make the pThing1 class and just make objects of type Thingy, the constructor seems happy, but it doesn't let me make Thing1::DoIt() methods.

(I translated this by hand from what I'm really trying to do into Gizmo and Thingy because I did not want suggestions of libraries to do what I'm trying to do, I want to understand the ways of C++ better.)