Advanced C++ exercises.

Hello everyone. I'm a computer engineering student, actually on the third semester. By now I think I can code in a pretty good level using c++. But I would like some exercises recommendation.

In class we pretty much just do console applications. I learned c++ through them, but now I feel that I'm stuck in this kind of codes. If you guys could recommend me topics or something like that, that you think is good to practice, I would appreciate.

Thanks.

P.S : I already studied basic and object oriented C++. So anything beyond that I would appreciate.
- Do you know how to use source control (e.g., Git)? Learn!
- Do you know how to use a build system (e.g., CMake)? Learn!
Those will almost certainly pay off more in the long term than another C++ exercise at this juncture.

- Find any real life open-source project that interests you. Contribute to it.

- Clone the video game Asteroids (or something similar). Use libraries of your choice. I like SDL2 even though it is written in C.

- Write a program that performs symbolic differentiation of algebraic expressions (i.e., solves your elementary calculus homework).
Do this by parsing some input language, then manipulate the expression tree using the language of term rewriting.

- Implement this snippet from one of @Duthomhas's recent posts:
// N.B.: this header file
#include <duthomhas/for>
#include <iostream>
#include <vector>

int main()
{
  std::vector <int> xs{ 10, 20, 30 };
  std::vector <int> ys{ 40, 50, 60 };
  int dot_product = 0;

for (auto [x, y] : xs, ys)
    dot_product += x * y;

std::cout << dot_product << "\n";
}

Part of this exercise is staring at it for a little while before noticing how it works.

The iterator used to traverse the range should offer an interface that accurately reflects the properties of xs and ys. See https://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/iterator#Iterator_categories for more information.