Memory usage of member functions

Hi all,

I am writing a program which will have many instances of a class (in, say, an array) and am concerned about memory usage. Suppose I have this kind of class:

class foo {
public:
fn ()
private:
unsigned int var;
}

and let's say I have a lot of instances of this -- n of them in an array. In memory, will there be n copies of fn () or just one? Of course, if it is just 1, then that's great. If there will be n copies, then I am contemplating making fn () a non-member function that operates on foo instead. (My concern is that I'll have a lot of fn ()'s, so I can write just one accessor to var instead.)

I vaguely remember learning about this eons ago and think it is just one copy in some central place that all instances of foo can access...but I can't remember what this is called or how to search for it in a search engine.

Thank you!

Ray

closed account (1yR4jE8b)
The way I understand functions and their place in memory (I'm no expert, so I expect someone to correct me), is that every member function has a hidden parameter 'this' which is a pointer to the calling object.

When you address a member of that class in a function, 'this->member' is used implicitly if you don't specify the 'this' pointer yourself.

This would seem to indicate to me, that because there is an implicit pointer to the caller, that there is only one copy of the function in memory.
Your analysis is correct: there is only one copy of the function in memory.

Be careful with virtual functions though... using them adds additional memory to your class because individual copies of your class must then keep track of which function is correct to call.

So, stick to classes that don't use the keyword "virtual" and don't inherit from classes that do.
Ah, great! Thank you both for your replies and explanation! I'll be sure to stay away from virtual functions as well.