create a small os (educational)

opengl library can be used for gui of my educational os?
Nope, sorry but it isn't going to be that easy. You should start smaller with a command line based OS if you're really interested. It's A LOT of work!
I don't know about the use of graphics, but why don't you develop a command processor in a controlled environment. Like application inside the os you are familiar with. You can also create a file system that the built-in commands of the command processor can handle. This will give you a lot of room for experimentation. You won't have the concept of hosted third-party application though.

I am not an expert, but I guess an operating system would minimally have:
- boot loader
- a shell of some sorts
- a file system
- executable file format (and what have you other system formats)
- compiler or linker capable of producing programs in this executable format (; not necessarily your own compiler)
- executable launcher/loader
- system API capable of supporting the shell and interaction between the user applications and the os (you don't need to support windowing or any GUI); needless to say, driver code for at least one hardware configuration

I have never tried anything like this. I think you could reuse solutions from existing operating systems and this will make your effort significantly less and your os much more interoperable. You could (and probably should) use a virtual machine for initial testing and most of the experimentation. You may choose to invest in some toy hardware, like a board with a micro-controller and primitive user interface, which will allow you to test some OS concepts on a stand-alone device for something like intelligent calculator. After all, mobile phones have os-es. You may (and probably will) need additional development tools that you will have to create yourself. I don't know much more than that. I am not even sure about what I said.

Regards