conio and buffer

Hi

I was searching to understand the function of conio.h. I found this on the page mentioned in "Source":

Possible solutions I think are flushing the input buffer (where is getch() or _getch() getting it's input?)

Source: http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/windows/6476/

What is the function and purpose of using conio.h? Someone told me it's outdated standard.

What is that "buffer" thing? I remember I also read the mentioning of "buffer" in reference to difference between 'endl' and '\n'.

Please help me with this stuff and please remember that I'm an outright beginner. Thanks a lot for your help and time.
You are trying to learn c++ with out schooling and/or a book for beginners? Most of the basics are explained in good documentation out there. I would start with basic tutorials, which might be in the Beginners board of this forum.

The creator of c++, Bjarne Stroustrup, teaches at a university and has written several books on programming in C++ and has quite a bit of info for learning it on his and adjoining websites.

there are other resources including the cplusplus.com which has beginning of programming.

that question is advanced topics and usually dealing with hardware control. The input buffer is where the info generated from pressing a key is put. Flushing is clearing out any data that was in it. A key press could produce more than one piece of information.

There are many types of buffers. A buffer is a data area that holds data of any form, usually transient data which changes over time. You mention mention elements of a string buffer with the endl and '\n'. which denote a new line, not the end of a buffer. When ever you use cin which loads a buffer to transfer the data to variable that is set by the user or programmer.

I don't know how much more basic I can get.

In the beginner sections of this forum might point you to a book or other information.
Thanks a lot, Azagaros. I did learn something out of it.