Help getting started

Good day everyone!

Ok so here is the down low. I am an intermediate C++ programmer and I am looking towards what I want to do in the future. That would be video game programming. Now here is where the big question lies, where should I start?

I run Ubuntu 11.04 and Windows 7, and I have all of the necessary tools installed on either. Now where should I start? I am not aiming for awesome 3D UI right away, just simple 2D sprite movement and background music, but I know, babysteps. Should I start with OpenGL and all of the stuff that goes with it in order to make a game, or should I just go and try for Directx? Also with your opinion if you could recommend a source to learn from I would be most appreciative! Thanks and have a good day!
Good Day!

There are many different paths to take. It all depends how much you really want to learn, and how easily you could get bored.

To start at the lowest level, learn how to create a window in windows. Its more complicated than you think. Im working on a project at the moment where im wrapping the windows API in classes, its been done before but im learning so much from it. Once youve made a window, you can populate it with an OpenGL or DirectX viewport.

OpenGL and DirectX are similar so its really up to you if you want your games to be cross-platform or Windows-Specific, but once again you're starting from a low level and will take a very long time to learn it all.

If you want to start making simple 2D games, used the SDL library. Its build on top of OpenGL, and can be extended to support 3D. There are many tutorials on the SDL website too. (SDL stands for Simple Direct-Media Layer).
Last edited on
Thank you for the reply!

I think I may just start off with OpenGL. I started doing some work with it but it seemed like DirectX could do more. But I prefer to work in Linux so OpenGL will work well! Now when it comes to sound will I need to OpenAL or is there a way to do it in OpenGL?