Creating my own programming language

Pages: 12
What's with all the killjoys posting here? The first program I designed and wrote myself was a video game. Not a very good one, mind you. OOOoooh, maybe I should have practiced programming a few years more and then asked questions.

You can't learn by not doing.
Yeah. I'm not good with game kinda stuff. I tried using Allegro and failed because I can't make graphics for shit.
@Duoas

High-five. That's not only for programming, but any skill.
Last edited on
What's different between a newbie asking "I want to make a programming language, but I don't have the first inkling of how" and a newbie asking "I want to make a game, but I don't have the first inkling of how"? Because the first response around here to the latter is always "don't."

Making a programming language is no easier than making a video game--arguably harder.
I'm interested in making my own compiler too but people are just so vague.
1. how to take c++ to machine code ?

2. how is linking solved. is this done by the compiler or another software ?

3. do you need assembly knowledge ?

until i understand more.
I decide try to make a language that transfer code to c++ and use the c++ compiler.
still working on framework idea.

this is what i thought of.
build commands on the fly,

block_command range autocast(int) variable at start to end
translate = "for(cast variable = start; variable < end; variable++) { block }"
endblock = end_range
end_block_command

command print args
mark = iostream
arg_expand = <<
translate = "std::cout << args << std::endl"
end_command

range a at 1 to 50
print a
end_range
They're vague because the question would take a book to answer.

Here is my "10 easy steps to making a programming language":