How did YOU learn C++?

Pages: 12
Hello members of Cplusplus forums.

I am planning on learning C++ programming from a book, but am a little intemidated by it. The book is called C++ Primer Plus. I've read the first chapter or two and it seems to be a decent guide on C++ (Tell me what you think about it if possible). Now let me get something clear right here, I'm not the "I kinda wanna learn it" guy or even the "I wanna try and learn it" guy. I'm the "I desperately want to learn this, no matter how long it takes." guy. (I have ALOT of free time at the moment.)

So the question is basicly "How did you do it?". As previously mentioned I am a bit intemidated (The book is a little over 1,000 pages long). So I would really like to know from someone who has learned it how they did it, and some advice for a complete newbie how to even start.

Things like taking notes, practicing, etc. Would be very helpful and much appreciated.

Thanks,
Dividan.

I started with C++ in easy steps. They really were easy steps. It gave me a good foundation and the basic skills of C++ in an easily learnt way.

http://www.ineasysteps.com/books/details/?9781840783520

Then I got the C++ Bible. This was more like a reference book and hell to learn from - Don't get a bible to learn from. They are a good reference though.

http://www.amazon.com/Standard-C-Bible-Al-Stevens/dp/0764546546
Last edited on
By pure chance, I happened to be the technical editor for the translation of Effective C++ into a different language. Back then, in 1999, C++ was only one year old, and I still didn't know what to make of it, but going through that book word by word broke the ice.

Get rid of Primer Plus, it gets terrible reviews by professionals.

The recommended books today are:
Accelerated C++ (Koenig and Moo) - the first actual C++ textbook
C++ Primer (Lippman, Lajoie, and Moo) - the most detailed C++ textbook
Thinking in C++ (Eckel) - available online for free