Webcam Image Processing

Hi there! First post on C++ Forums. :)

I am currently a graduating Computer Engineering student and have a certain idea for our senior project which requires the use of a webcam to implement image processing.

Although I have had experience with C++, our lessons have never touched upon image processing, and it is my intention that our program have a GUI, something I'm not familiar making using C++.

As such, I'd like to ask help one step at a time so we can get started - the first one being, how exactly do I use C++ to process a live streaming webcam image? If you need to know, our projects involves recognizing hand gestures using the webcam and translating these into commands. Although I have seen articles on image processing, I have not successfully found one that uses C++, webcams and image processing at the same time.

Thank you and hoping for some help from anybody :)
Understand first that C++ has no inherent understanding of images (or indeed, monitors, keyboards, a mouse, colours or anything else like that).

Everything involving that has to be done through an interaction with the OS,or coded yourself; for hardware interaction, either directly with the functions provided by that OS, or by using a library that in turn uses those functions. As such, you need a library (at the very least, something that will grab data from your webcam).

The most common library for this sort of thing I see people using is openCV. Alternatively, you could find a simple library that grabs images from a webcam, and conduct your own analysis of those images.
Last edited on
Well, assuming that I use another way to get the images from the webcam, is C++ still not recommended for processing images? If so can you suggest any other way I can accomplish my objective?
is C++ still not recommended for processing images?