Am I learning the right language? [Also: Practice Problems?]

Hey all, I'm a beginner to c++, so far I have covered variables, pointers, arrays, functions, dynamic memory, basic file i/o, data structures, control structures etc, and I am about to learn about classes.

My question is, is c++ the right language for me to be learning?
I know it depends on what I want to develop, in the long term would like to:

-Help to write operating systems
-Help write video games
-Write simple applications for myself to do things which are normally impractical

Should I stick with c++ or should I do something else? I am only 15, so I have plenty of time to learn.

EDIT: I thought that rather than create a new thread, I would simply edit this one. Considering my level of experience, can anyone recommend some practice programs that I could create in c++? I have seen the ones at cprogramming.com, but does anyone else have suggestions?
Last edited on
Well, most modern OS today are written in C and/or C++, so you're on the right track there.

Most video games are also written in C++, with some scripting probably thrown in there to handle some game play logic.

Depends on what applications you're talking about. Great thing about C++, is there are libraries out there for near anything you want.
For OS/Game development, C++ is the way to go. For programs that perform basic tasks for you, I would suggest using some kind of scripting language, such as Python, but C++ will do. If you're already this far though, just stick with it. Learning other languages will be gravy if you have C++ under your belt, as it is the most complex programming language out there.
BigChocaholic,
I completely understand what you are talking about. I too am 15 years old and now. I would consider myself more of an intermediate programmer now but I had the same problem - What is the "best" language to learn?