C++ Client Chatting

With the new standards in C++11 with std::thread, I was wondering if there is a way to make a pure C++ client to client chat that uses sockets. I have limited experience with sockets since I had no idea how to send a message without forcing the program to wait for a reply from the server first. I don't see why a server is required if you are directly connected with just one other computer, and especially now that threads are standard.

To make my problem a little more understandable, is there a way to use win sockets to talk with another client like a typical instant messaging program? The tutorials on threading are very vague since its so new, and what I've learned from win sockets was prior the C++11 release so it either used non standard libraries, or it forced the user to wait for the other client to respond. I have also only seen client/server implementations for chat programs, why?
That's just the way sockets work. Clients initiate communication and servers listen for incoming connections. That's the definition of "client" and "server" in sockets programming. It wouldn't make sense to have a conversation where both participants are waiting for the other person to speak (both are servers), or both are speaking constantly without caring whether someone is paying attention (both are clients).

is there a way to use win sockets to talk with another client like a typical instant messaging program?
AFAIK, when you need full duplex data transmission -- that is, both participants may send or receive data at any time, independently of each other -- what you do is create two connections where both programs are both client and server to each other.