C++ vs. C vs. C#

Pages: 12
I am new to programming, and before I go on I would like to know whether C, C++, or C# would be better for me to learn. Thanks for the help!
In all honesty, it really depends on what you want to do. I won't say don't learn C because both C++ and C# will always contain C, but there is no reason to learn an old language where two better languages have been built on top of them.

I believe you may want to learn more about the separate languages before you make your decision:
C: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C_(programming_language)
C#: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C_Sharp_(programming_language)
C++: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C%2B%2B

I left C++ last so that you can see all of the differences between them and why I believe C++ is the better language. I feel it's an extremely powerful language, much like the other two, but the amount of support that is behind C++ isn't really there for the other two. I do not like much of Microsoft's developments, and C# is no exception to that. One of my friends is a programmer that knows C# and designs a lot of Window applications for clients, but if I'm not mistaking, C# is a Window's only language.

C# is not a bad idea for WIN32 API programs, but there is nothing that I know of that C# can do but C++ can't, and C++ always has the options of being portable, which, again, IIRC, C# can only make Windows applications.
but there is nothing that I know of that C# can do but C++ can't

What about events? Even in C++11, the closest thing to events are infinite loops in seprate threads! And I belive there are al ot more stuff that C# can, but c++ can't, mostly related to microsoft programming.
C# also has that whole LINQ sublanguage, which, I think, makes it worth learning even if you don't use it.
Last edited on
What about events?
As soon as I saw C# Events I saw it was using the Platform SDK's SetEvent/WaitForSingleObject calls. Good luck porting that to some other environment.