Automatic Casting of Integer to an Arbitrary Object

Hi Everyone,

I have been using C++ for many years. Recently I faced a very strange issue for which I couldn't find any explanation. Consider the following example:

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

class test {
        private:
                int x;
        public:
                test(const int y) {
                        x = y;
                }

void foo() {
                        cout << x << endl;
                }

~test() {
                }
};

int main() {
        test a(100);
        test b = 10;
        a.foo();
        b.foo();
        return 0;
}

I expect the compiler not to accept the second line in the main function (test b = 10;) while it accepts. Indeed, it casts the integer (10) to an object of type test constructed as test(10). This is of course because test has a constructor of type test(const int).

However, logically this should not happen. The object of type "test" can be a much more complicated object than a simple integer and casting the integer in this way is meaningless.

I was wondering why this happens and more importantly how one can prevent the compiler from this stupid automatic casting?

Thanks in advance,
explicit
It's not casting an integer to an object of type test, it's constructing b using the provided constructor. Try:

class test {
        private:
                int x;
        public:
                test(const int y) {
						cout << "y = " << y << endl;
                        x = y;
                }

test & operator=(const test & rhs)
				{
					cout << "Assignment" << endl;
					x = rhs.x;
					return *this;
				}

void foo() {
                        cout << x << endl;
                }

~test() {
                }
};