Search PI for missing sequence digits

Hi

I know there are plenty of places out there where a person can track down digit sequences within a sequence, BUT what I am looking to do and cannot seem to track down is track down sequences with some known and some unknown digits. eg.

In the sequence what are the unknown digits in the number sequence 111?222?333 - the list will obviously be quite extensive depending on the number lengths given. Any help will be hugely appreciated.
Last edited on
I don't know any sites, but you can just download the first few gigabytes of pi and search for the sequence yourself.
I have little programming knowledge so was hoping someone would give me some pointers please
0x3A28213A, 0x6339392C, 0x7363682E... okay, just kidding.

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

bool match(const char* buf,const std::string& matchStr)
{
  for (size_t i=0;i<matchStr.size();i++)
  {
    if (matchStr[i]!='?' && buf[i]!=matchStr[i])return false;
  }
  return true;
}

int main()
{
  ifstream in("pi.txt",ios::binary);

string matchStr;
  cout << "Enter a search string: " << flush;
  getline(cin,matchStr);

const int bufSize=10000;
  const int chunkSize=bufSize-matchStr.length();
  const int noChunks=1e9/chunkSize;
  for (int x=0;x<noChunks;x++)
  {
    char buf[bufSize];
    in.read(buf,bufSize);
    in.seekg(-int(matchStr.size()),ios_base::cur);
    for (int i=0;i<chunkSize;i++)
    {
      if (match(buf+i,matchStr))
      {
        cout << "Found sequence " << string(buf+i,matchStr.length()) << " at position " << x*chunkSize+i << endl;
      }
    }
  }

cout << "Searched " << in.tellg() << " digits of pi" << endl;
}

Enter a search string: 333?222?111
Found sequence 33372226111 at position 712885093
Searched 999998790 digits of pi in 2.436 seconds

Or, if you're on Linux you could just grep '333?222?111' pi.txt.
Last edited on