Sudoku Help

Hey guys, I've posted here before, and the only time I EVER come here is when I've been working on a program for at least 3 hours straight and I end up being stuck. So, our assignment is to make a Sudoku verifier. Not neccessarily to make one that solves a puzzle, but just to check whether or not it actually works (i.e. it follows the rules of sudoku puzzles).

Now, one thing I want to make very clear (if someone decides to help me) is that I DO NOT want just straight code. I'm not looking for the answer. I just need a little guidance so that I can figure it out on my own. I'm no pro programmer or anything (just learned about operator overloading this afternoon), but everything you see in my code, I believe I have a good understanding of. Anyway, here is my code.

#include "Verifier.h"
#include <iomanip>
#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <stdlib.h>

using namespace std;

Verifier::Verifier() {
        sudoku[numRows][numCols] = { 0 };
        }

void Verifier::readGrid( const char* puzzle ) {

ifstream inFile;
inFile.open(puzzle, ios::binary);

if (inFile.fail()) {
        std::cout << "File did not open";
        exit (1);  
        }
for (int i = 0; i < 9; i++)
for (int j = 0; j < 9; j++)
inFile >> sudoku[i][j];

inFile.close();

}

void Verifier::printGrid() {

for (int nRow = 0; nRow < 9; nRow++){
for (int nCol = 0; nCol < 9; nCol++){
        cout << sudoku[nRow][nCol] << " ";
        }
cout << endl;
       }
}

bool Verifier::verifySolution() {

bool correct = false;

//for (int x = 0; x < 3; x++) { was going to go for a "3x3" and then goto the
//next "3x3", but I'm not exactly sure how to go about that just yet.
for (int row = 0; row < 9; row++) {
        correct = false;
for (int col = 0; col < 9; col++) {
        if (sudoku[row][col] == sudoku[row][col+1])
        return false;
        else
        correct = true;
}
        //}
}
return correct;
}