cross platform software example c++

Hello,

I am looking to create a small cross platform software using only c++ and i have no clue how to do it.
I tried to google it but all i can find is suggestions about using Qt, boost etc etc which i cannot use.

So can anyone provide me a small code example which can run on both Windows and Mac

I tried referring to Cross-Platform Development in C++: Building Mac OS X, Linux, and Windows Applications
but it seems to be very complex. i mean it talks about design patterns and other high level stuff but nothing to begin .... Like i want a starting point - a kind of template that is a basic structure to use, basic includes to use when developing a cross platform software.
Like i need a starting point.
Any help will be highly appreciated
I am not an expert on this but i have done some cross platform programming so here is what I learned. First, use only standard c++ and stay away from any commands that are specific to one compiler. Second, do not use any stuff that obviously depends on the OS, like system calls or using the windows API. Third, use some kind of automated build system like CMake, so that people can make projects and solutions on different systems. Fourth, use only libraries that are in standard c++ and that are known to work on all your target platforms.
Also I found it helpful to try out if the program works on other OS'es on a regular basis-not when finished writing the code but during the development process.I used a virtual machine for that.
I hope this helps.
Why do you say you cannot use boost or Qt ??

@ljs: i cannot use boost or Qt because that is my project requirement to only use basic standard c++ and no other stuff available in the market.

And thanks a lot for all the guidance but the main problem i am facing right now is that i don't know where to start from. Like i found some code from stack overflow but it didn't work.....Here it is